Members

GROUP COORDINATOR

Kürsat Cagiltay
Kursat Cagiltay is Professor in the Computer Education and Instructional Technology of the Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey. He is founder and coordinator of the SIMGE research group. Kursat's research focuses on Human Computer Interaction, Social Informatics, distance education, electronic games and simulations, EPSS and cultural aspects of technology.
e-mail: kursat@metu.edu.tr web-page: www.metu.edu.tr/~kursat
GROUP MEMBERS
Kadir Yücel Kaya

Kadir Yücel KAYA is a doctorate student and research assistant in the Computer Education 
and Instructional Technology Department in METU. His research interests are Game based
learning and Technology interest learning. He is also the webmaster of the SIMGE Website.

e-posta: kykaya@metu.edu.tr
Seçil Tısoğlu

Seçil Tısoğlu is a doctorate student and research assistant in the Computer Education 
and Instructional Technology Department in METU. Her research interests are Internet
safety and Game based learning.

e-posta: tsecil@metu.edu.tr
Aysegül Bakar Çörez

Dr. Ayşegül Bakar Çörez is a research assistant in the Computer Education and Instructional
Technology department in Kocaeli University. She is interested in Massively Multiplayer Online Games, 
communities of practice, game based learning and collaborative learning.
e-mail: abakar@metu.edu.tr
Göknur Kaplan Akilli
Goknur Kaplan Akilli is an Assistant Professor in the Department
of Computer Education and Instructional Technology of the Middle East Technical 
University, Ankara,Turkey. She is one of the co-founders of the SIMGE research 
group. Her research and interest focus on instructional design,  Human Computer 
Interaction (especially on "Usability"), electronic games and simulations, cultural 
aspects of technology and mathematics teaching.

      e-mail: akilli@metu.edu.tr 
Gülfidan Can

Gulfidan Can is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Education and Instructional 
Technology of the Middle East Technical University, Ankara,Turkey. 
Her research interest is designing social learning environments 
for online communities of practice. Currently, she is a research associate in OSLO 
Research Group. She is one of the co-founders of SIMGE research group.

e-mail: gulfidan@cc.usu.edu  web-page: http://cc.usu.edu/~gulfidan
Mehmet Üçgül

Dr. Memet 3GUL is a reserch asistant at Education Faculty in METU. 
He is interested in 3D design and  visual effects. His reserch area 
is  simulation games.
    
e-mail: memet@metu.edu.tr 
Serkan Alkan

He is a doctorate student in the Computer Education and Instructional
Technology Department, and studies eye tracking and video games.
He is an administrative research assistant at Research Coordination
and Industrial Liaison Office - METU.

e-mail: serkana@metu.edu.tr  
Yavuz Inal

Dr. Yavuz İnal is working in TÜBİTAK.
He studies collaborative learning, games-based learning, human computer 
interaction and life long learning. 

e-mail: yinal@metu.edu.tr     web-page: www.metu.edu.tr/~yinal
 
Pinar Onay Durdu

Pinar Onay Durdu is a Assistant Proffessor in Computer Engineering
Department at Kocaeli University. Her research and interest focus 
on distance education, virtual universities, and information systems 
of virtual organizations, electronic games and simulations.
      
e-mail: ponay@metu.edu.tr
Türkan Karakus

Turkan Karakus is an Assistant Professor 
in the Department of Computer Education and Instructional 
Technology at Atatürk University. She is studying 
about educational computer games, participatory game design, 
web based learning and human computer interaction.
      
e-mail: karakus@metu.edu.tr
Eylem Kilic

Eylem Kilic is an Assistant Professor in Yuzuncu Yıl University 
at the Department of Computer Education and Instructional Technology. 
Her research and interest focus on instructional design, cognitive theory
of multimedia learning, cognitive load theory, human computer 
interaction, electronic games and simulations and digital divide.

e-mail: ekilic@metu.edu.tr,keylem@gmail.com 
skype: eylem.kilic
Engin Kurşun

Engin Kurşun is an Assistant Professor in Ataturk University at Departmeny 
of Computer Education and Instructional Technology. He is mainly 
interested in Open Educational resources, Human Computer Interaction,
and Educational Games in Open Learning Environments.

e-mail: ekursun@metu.edu.tr
web-page: www.metu.edu.tr/~ekursun
for participation; contact with kursat@metu.edu.tr